The best color in the whole world is the one that looks good on you.”
– Coco Chanel

Coco Chanel said it best. You pick out clothing based on what color looks good on you. You know what color makes your eyes pop and what color washes you out. Why shouldn’t it be the same for picking out paint color for your home?

If you’ve hit a wall trying to select a paint color, turn to your closet for answers. That seafoam green scarf could become an accent wall for the living room. Your favorite royal blue skinny jeans could inspire your next bathroom renovation. Bring personality into your home by identifying your signature color.  

Sherwin-Williams ColorSnap® Visualizer app allows you to capture inspiration on your iPhone or Android by matching images you take to Sherwin-Williams paint colors. Simply snap a picture of the outfit or clothing item you like, and the app will tell you the corresponding Sherwin-Williams paint color. The free app is perfect for going from cloth to color.

If your signature color is bright and you are concerned about it overpowering a room, consider adding pops of it to neutral colors like Sherwin-Williams 2016 Color of the Year, Alabaster (SW 7008). Alabaster is neither stark nor overly warm, but rather an understated and alluring hue of white. Use it to combine a clean, fresh look with your signature color for a more personalized space.

Clothing is expressive and allows for personalization and individualization. Why not let your home do the same?

Join Sherwin-Williams on Twitter for #AltChat January 13th

Join us on Twitter this Wednesday January 13, 2016 at 9AM PT/12PM ET/5PM GMT when we talk color with Sherwin-Williams, one of our Alt Winter 2016 sponsors.

Want to see the questions ahead of time? Head over to our Facebook event page. If you want a reminder, check Going and depending on your Facebook settings you’ll get a notification on your phone an hour before the chat starts. 

New to Twitter? Refer to our How Does It Work: Twitter post from earlier this year for some basics. Then once you’re set up, read our tips for How to Participate in a Live Twitter Chat.

Win 1 of 2 $100 Sherwin-Williams Gift Cards

Want to start 2016 off with a fresh look? Here’s how you can win 1 of 2 $100 Sherwin-Williams Gift Cards by participating in our chat:

  1. Join Alt and Sherwin-Williams on Twitter Wednesday January 13, 2016 from 9AM PT/12PM ET to 10AM PT/1PM ET.
  2. Answer one or more of the questions in the chat, including these hashtags in your replies: #AltChat #SWColorLove #AltSummit
  3. Tweet as many times as you want during the hour. All Tweets using the three hashtags will be entries.
  4. Two tweets will be randomly chosen and the winners announced on Twitter on January 14.

This post was sponsored by Sherwin-Williams.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *